The Smart Phone Addiction

Welcome everyone to my BCM240 blog! I’m officially back in the blogosphere and look forward to discussing the issues and innovative ideas surrouding the audiences’ interaction with different media spaces. My name is Bianca and I am a second year Communication and Media student at the University of Wollongong.

On the weekend I was doing what girls to best, shopping! I could not help but realise that majority of the people in the shopping centre were using their smart phone in some way. Walking from shop to shop I had to dodge people who were oblivious to the crowd; their eyes were glued to their smart phone screen. I noticed people of all ages obsessing with there smart phone. A child sitting in front of a shopping trolley is kept occupied by playing a game on his mother’s iPhone. A group of young teenage girls drinking coffee at Gloria Jeans sit in silence as they scroll through Facebook and Instagram. We are a society that is highly dependant on smart phones but at the same time we are forgetting how to engage in public. In public spaces we are becoming more introvert and a little less extrovert.

Technology has revolutionised the way we communicate and the way we shop. More shops are becoming media savvy and are using social media to attract customers. We are constantly downloading the newest social media apps from the App Store and Google Play. When I was waiting in line at a Priceline check out, the flyer in the below photograph caught my attention. Priceline allows customers in-store to connect to their free Wi-Fi service and receive exclusive offers via there Priceline App. Also customers can visit Priceline’s Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest and Instagram accounts to keep up to date with the latest beauty and health care products.

I began my day with the mission to have a social media free day but who was I trying to fool. Who knew going shopping would be a challenge? Different companies are now more than ever using social media platforms to capture the customers attention. I could not resist the temptation and the thought of missing out on something. I would call it a social media addiction. End result, smart phone 1 and Bianca 0.

Leave a Reply

